Airline Mobility Scooter & Wheelchair Rules
Every US airline must carry your mobility scooter free of charge. What differs — sometimes enormously — is the battery they will accept, the paperwork they want first, and the cargo door your folded device has to pass through. This page is the master reference for all six major US carriers, with the federal rule that sits underneath all of them, and links to the full guide for each airline.
The short version
- The 100 Wh and 160 Wh limits you see everywhere do not apply to mobility scooters. Those are the rules for laptops, cameras and power banks.
- For a mobility device the federal ceiling is 300 watt-hours, and it only bites when the battery has to be removed.
- Alaska is the strictest — a battery that cannot be easily removed is refused outright, and the label must be legible and in English.
- Delta is the most permissive on batteries and the only carrier with a genuinely mandatory form.
- American publishes no watt-hour limit at all for mobility devices and tells you to phone instead.
- United no longer publishes one either. Its old mobility-device page has been retired; the federal 300 Wh rule is what governs. See the note below.
- If an airline damages your device, compensation is based on what you paid — not on baggage liability limits.
On this page
- The federal rule underneath every airline
- Battery rules: all six carriers
- Notice periods and forms
- Will it fit? Cargo doors by aircraft
- Airline-by-airline guides
- Your rights under the ACAA
- What changed in 2026
- Does the ZiiLIF R3b clear all six?
- Pre-flight checklist
- Frequently asked questions
- Sources
The federal rule underneath every airline
Before you read a single airline policy, understand the rule they are all writing on top of. The FAA's PackSafe guidance for wheelchairs and mobility devices is the plain-English version of it, and it says this:
“Lithium ion battery size is limited to 300 watt hours (Wh). One spare battery not exceeding 300 Wh or two spare batteries not exceeding 160 Wh each may be carried in carry-on baggage.”
— FAA PackSafe — Wheelchairs and Mobility Devices
Three things follow from that, and almost every bad article online gets at least one of them wrong.
The 300 Wh limit applies to removed batteries, not installed ones. The FAA's own wording is that where a battery is adequately protected inside the device, “it is preferable that they remain installed in the mobility aid.” The watt-hour ceiling is the condition for taking a battery out and carrying it into the cabin — which is what happens with almost every folding travel scooter, because folding devices rarely have a protective housing.
Removed batteries fly in the cabin. Always. Not in the hold, not in a checked bag, on any airline. Terminals must be protected against short circuit — tape them or use the original packaging or a pouch — and you have to tell the airline where the battery is, because the FAA requires the crew to inform the pilot-in-command of its location.
Lithium metal batteries are forbidden with these devices entirely. If your battery is non-rechargeable lithium, it does not fly. Every travel scooter sold in the US uses lithium-ion, so this rarely comes up, but it is worth knowing the distinction exists.
And the sentence that explains why the table below is not uniform: “Individual airlines may have more restrictive rules regarding the acceptance of any dangerous goods, including lithium batteries that power mobility aids.” Airlines can tighten the federal rule. They cannot loosen it.
Battery rules: all six carriers
| Airline | Lithium Wh limit | Battery removed? | Battery in cabin? | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alaska (+ Hawaiian) | 300 Wh single; 160 Wh each if two | Required — must be easily removable | Required | 3 Sep 2026 |
| Southwest | 300 Wh single; 160 Wh each if two | Required — without tools | Required | 3 Sep 2026 |
| JetBlue | 300 Wh (or 25 g lithium content) | Only if no protective housing | Required once removed | 3 Sep 2026 |
| United | None published — federal 300 Wh applies | Yes, if collapsible | Spares in cabin only | 8 Sep 2026 |
| Delta | None published for mobility batteries | Only in unspecified cases | Not stated | 8 Sep 2026 |
| American | None published — call first | Not stated | Not stated | 3 Sep 2026 |
“None published” does not mean “no limit”. It means the carrier has not put a figure on its public pages, so the federal 300 Wh ceiling in the FAA guidance above is what a ground agent will fall back on. Carry the number for your own battery and you will not be caught out either way.
United changed its pages. Until recently United published the clearest explanation of the federal rule of any carrier, including an explicit 300 Wh figure for collapsible devices and a statement that there is no watt-hour limit for an installed battery. That page has been retired. As of 8 September 2026 the replacement — Wheelchair assistance and mobility services — carries no watt-hour figure and no advance-notice requirement, and united.com's dangerous-items page says only that mobility devices travel free. Treat the FAA's 300 Wh as your working number on United and carry the spec sheet.
Notice periods and forms
| Airline | Advance notice | Form |
|---|---|---|
| Alaska (+ Hawaiian) | Arrive 2 hrs early | Mobility Aid Information Form |
| Southwest | None published | Wheelchair/Mobility Aid Form |
| JetBlue | None published — add an SSR | Wheelchair information form |
| United | None published on the current page | None; use the wheelchair filter when booking |
| Delta | 48 hrs recommended | Mandatory handling form |
| American | None for mobility devices | No form; phone approval |
Notice “requirements” are capped by law — see your rights below. Filling in a form early makes your day smoother; with one narrow exception it is not a condition of carriage.
Will it fit? Cargo doors by aircraft
This is the failure that actually strands people, and it has nothing to do with batteries. Your scooter is accepted by the airline and then refused by the aeroplane, because the cargo door on the regional jet operating your second leg is smaller than the one on the mainline jet you started on. Measure your device folded — height and width — and check it against the aircraft you are actually booked on, not the airline in general.
| Aircraft | Max weight | Max height | Max width |
|---|---|---|---|
| Embraer E175 | 300 lb | 33" | 39" |
| Airbus A321 | 330 lb | 46" | 44" |
| Boeing 717 | 400 lb | 29" | 52" |
| Boeing 737 | 500 lb | 32" | 47" |
| Boeing 787 | 500 lb | 58" | 73" |
| Airbus A330 | 500 lb | 58" | 73" |
Ordered smallest first. The Embraer E175 is the one to watch: it flies a large share of US regional routes and its 33-inch door height is the tightest constraint most travellers will meet.
United now lets you filter flights by whether your chair fits: enter your width and height in the search results and it labels which aircraft will take it. Delta publishes an equivalent fit checker. Both are worth using before you book rather than after.
Airline-by-airline guides
Each carrier has its own full guide — the exact quotes, the forms, the phone numbers and the things that go wrong. Start with the one you are flying.
Delta
Verified 8 Sep 2026No published watt-hour limit for mobility batteries, a mandatory handling form, and a fare-difference refund almost nobody claims.
Read the Delta guide →United
Verified 8 Sep 2026Policy pages restructured in 2026: no watt-hour figure, no 48-hour rule, and a new wheelchair fit filter at booking.
United guide — publishing shortlyAlaska (and Hawaiian)
Verified 3 Sep 2026The strictest carrier on batteries: must be easily removable, and the label has to be legible and in English or it is refused.
Read the Alaska guide →Southwest
Verified 3 Sep 2026300 Wh, removable without tools, and a size ceiling that most folding travel scooters clear comfortably.
Read the Southwest guide →American
Verified 3 Sep 2026Publishes no watt-hour limit and no form. The instruction is to phone for approval, which makes your own paperwork matter more.
American guide — in progressJetBlue
Verified 3 Sep 2026300 Wh or 25 g lithium content, removal only where there is no protective housing, and an SSR to add at booking.
JetBlue guide — in progressTwo more guides sit alongside these. Watt-hours explained covers how to work out your own number and why the label matters, and TSA screening rules covers the part of the journey before you reach the gate. If you are sailing rather than flying, cruise line mobility rules is the equivalent for ships.
Your rights under the ACAA
The Air Carrier Access Act gives you protections no airline policy can reduce. These are worth knowing by heart, because the person at the gate may not.
Advance notice is limited by law. Under 14 CFR 382.27, the most notice a carrier may require is 48 hours, and only for a short closed list — which includes “transportation for an electric wheelchair on an aircraft with fewer than 60 seats” and “provision of hazardous materials packaging for batteries.” On a mainline jet with 60 seats or more, no notice requirement attaches at all. Where an airline asks for 48 hours, it is smoothing its own operation, not setting a condition of carriage.
Your device flies free. Assistive devices do not count toward your baggage allowance and do not attract a fee, on any US carrier.
It has priority in the hold. Under 14 CFR 382.125, wheelchairs get priority stowage over other cargo, and you are entitled to be told before the cabin door closes whether your device was loaded.
Gate return is your right. Devices are returned as close as possible to the door of the aircraft unless you asked for baggage claim instead.
Damage compensation is based on purchase price. Under 14 CFR 382.131 the basis is the original purchase price of the device — not the baggage liability cap that applies to an ordinary suitcase. Keep your receipt somewhere you can reach it from a phone.
Detachable parts travel with you. Armrests, cushions, joysticks and bags come into the cabin and do not count against your carry-on allowance.
What changed in 2026
In December 2024 the Department of Transportation issued a rule — Ensuring Safe Accommodations for Air Travelers With Disabilities Using Wheelchairs — that went considerably further: it defined mishandling a wheelchair as a violation of the ACAA in itself, required prompt return and repair or replacement, required airlines to reimburse the fare difference where you have to take a more expensive flight because your chair will not fit, and tightened training.
Those provisions are in the Code of Federal Regulations. Several of the most consequential ones are not currently being enforced.
On 30 September 2025 DOT announced enforcement discretion for four parts of the rule, and on 4 August 2026 it extended that pause to 30 April 2027 while it works on a follow-up rulemaking. The paused provisions are:
- 14 CFR 382.130(a) — airline liability for the timely return of a wheelchair in the condition received
- 14 CFR 382.132 — reimbursement of the fare difference when your device will not fit on your booked flight
- 14 CFR 382.125(e) — the pre-departure notification about your right to contact a Complaint Resolution Official
- 14 CFR 382.141(a)(6) — the frequency of refresher training for staff and contractors
What that means practically: the older, well-established protections above — free carriage, priority stowage, gate return, purchase-price compensation, the 48-hour cap on notice — are unaffected and enforceable. The newer 2024 protections exist on paper, and several airlines have implemented them anyway, but DOT has said it will not pursue enforcement of those four until at least 30 April 2027. If a carrier declines a fare-difference reimbursement in 2026, that is why. You can still file a complaint with DOT, and you should.
This is not legal advice. If you are pursuing a claim, the DOT aviation consumer protection pages linked below are the place to start.
Does the ZiiLIF R3b clear all six?
Yes — and the margins are not close, which is the point of designing to the rule rather than around it.
| Airline | Battery rule | Size limit | R3b clears? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alaska | ≤300 Wh, must be removable | 737: 32" H × 47" W | Yes — and under the E175's weight threshold |
| Southwest | ≤300 Wh, removable without tools | ≤34" H, ≤45" W/D, ≤500 lb | Yes |
| JetBlue | ≤300 Wh | A220: 44" W × 32" H | Yes |
| United | Federal 300 Wh | Must fit upright through the bin door | Yes |
| Delta | No published limit | Varies by aircraft — use the fit checker | Yes |
| American | Not published — call first | 737: 33" H | Yes on height |
The ZiiLIF-R3b runs a 262 Wh removable lithium-ion battery — comfortably inside the 300 Wh ceiling, with room to spare against every carrier that publishes a figure. It folds to 37.4" × 21.9" × 18.1" and weighs 37.5 lb without the battery, so the tightest cargo door in regular US service, the Embraer E175's, is not a problem. The battery lifts out in seconds without tools, which is what Southwest and Alaska specifically require.
If you want the fold-and-lift version of this rather than the spec-sheet version, the R3b airline travel guide walks through an actual trip. Our folding travel scooters and carbon-fibre wheelchairs are all built to the same 300 Wh constraint.
Pre-flight checklist
- Know your watt-hours. Volts × amp-hours. Write it down. Delta's form has a blank for it and Alaska will want to read it off the battery.
- Check the battery label is legible and in English, showing either watt-hours or volts and amp-hours. Alaska refuses batteries labelled in other languages. If yours is not, bring the manufacturer's spec sheet.
- Print the airline's form. Delta, Southwest, Alaska and JetBlue all publish one. Delta's is mandatory.
- Measure your device folded, height and width, and compare it against the cargo door for your actual aircraft — not the airline generally.
- Pack spares in your carry-on, terminals taped or in original packaging. Never checked, on any airline.
- Carry detachable parts on. Armrests, cushions, joysticks and bags do not count against your allowance.
- Arrive early. An hour before normal check-in on Delta and United; two hours on Alaska.
- Inspect before you leave the jet bridge. Report damage there, not at home — several carriers run a 24-hour domestic claim window.
- Photograph the device before you hand it over. Time-stamped, all four sides. It settles pre-existing-damage arguments in seconds.
Frequently asked questions
What is the watt-hour limit for a mobility scooter battery on a plane?
300 watt-hours for the battery in the device, where it has to be removed, plus one spare of up to 300 Wh or two spares of up to 160 Wh each carried in the cabin. The 100 Wh and 160 Wh limits quoted in most articles are the rules for consumer electronics and do not apply to mobility aids.
Do I have to remove the battery from my mobility scooter?
It depends on whether the device protects the battery. Where the battery is in a protective housing the FAA prefers it stays installed. Folding travel scooters usually have no such housing, so the battery comes out and travels in the cabin. Alaska and Southwest require removal outright.
Does it cost extra to fly with a mobility scooter?
No. Assistive devices are carried free of charge on every US carrier and do not count against your checked baggage allowance. This is a requirement of the Air Carrier Access Act, not an airline courtesy.
How much advance notice does an airline need for a mobility scooter?
Legally, up to 48 hours — and only for a short list of situations, including an electric wheelchair on an aircraft with fewer than 60 seats. On a standard mainline jet no notice is required. Airlines may ask; that request has limits.
What happens if the airline damages my scooter?
Report it before you leave the airport and ask for a written report. Compensation for a domestic flight is based on the original purchase price of the device rather than standard baggage liability limits. Keep the receipt accessible.
Can I take my scooter to the gate?
Yes. You can ride to the gate and gate-check the device there, and it should be returned to you as close as possible to the aircraft door on arrival unless you asked for baggage claim.
Which airline is strictest about mobility scooter batteries?
Alaska. The battery must be easily removable or it is refused, and the label must be legible and in English. Southwest is close behind in requiring removal without tools.
Sources
Every rule quoted above comes from one of these, each checked on the date shown. Where a carrier's own wording is quoted, the link goes to the carrier's page rather than to a summary of it.
- FAA PackSafe — Wheelchairs and Mobility Devices — the 300 Wh ceiling, spare battery allowance, cabin-carriage and terminal-protection requirements, and the lithium metal prohibition. Checked 8 Sep 2026.
- 14 CFR 382.27 — Advance notice requirements (eCFR) — the closed list of services for which 48 hours may be required. Checked 8 Sep 2026.
- DOT notification of enforcement discretion, 4 August 2026 (Federal Register) — extension of the enforcement pause to 30 April 2027 and the four provisions affected. Checked 8 Sep 2026.
- DOT — About the Air Carrier Access Act and the Airline Passengers with Disabilities Bill of Rights. Checked 8 Sep 2026.
- TSA Cares and Disabilities and Medical Conditions — screening procedures before the gate. Checked 8 Sep 2026.
- United — Wheelchair assistance and mobility services. Checked 8 Sep 2026.
- Delta, Alaska, Southwest, JetBlue and American: carrier pages as cited in each airline guide linked above, last checked 3 September 2026.
Airline policy changes without notice and pages move — United's mobility-device page was retired between our last two reviews. We re-verify this page quarterly and stamp the date at the top. If you find something out of date, tell us and we will fix it.
Built to the rule, not around it. The ZiiLIF R3b runs a 262 Wh removable battery and folds to 37.4" × 21.9" × 18.1" — inside every limit on this page. Free 5-day trial and returns.
See the ZiiLIF-R3b → · All folding travel scooters →
How we verify this page
Every rule here was read from a primary source — the carrier's own policy page, FAA PackSafe, the eCFR or the Federal Register — and not from other guides. Each claim carries the date it was confirmed. We re-check the whole page quarterly and after any DOT rulemaking, and we stamp the date at the top whether or not anything changed. Airline pages move without warning: United's mobility device page was retired between two of our reviews. If you find something out of date, tell us and we will correct it.
General information, not advice
This page explains published airline policy and federal regulation as we understand it. It is not legal advice, and it is not a substitute for confirming your own device with your own airline before you fly. Rules differ by aircraft, route and codeshare partner, and a carrier may apply a stricter standard than the federal minimum. If you are pursuing a claim or a complaint, start with the DOT Airline Passengers with Disabilities Bill of Rights.
Where we stand
ZiiROBOT Mobility designs and sells the ZiiLIF folding scooters and wheelchairs referenced on this page, so treat our product recommendations as what they are. The airline and regulatory information is reported the same way regardless of what it says about our devices — where a rule works against us, we publish it.
